Until fairly recently, Canada’s wetlands were viewed as areas of little value unless they could be drained and cleared for agricultural or urban development. In parts of Southwestern Ontario over 90% of the original wetlands have been lost.

Conservation Authorities have been concerned and involved in the evaluation, acquisition and preservation of wetlands for many years. One of the largest sections of wetlands in the east branch of the Sydenham River is on the floodplain between Coldstream and Strathroy. There is another group of wetlands in the Bothwell sand plain.

Wetlands reduce pollution by filtering the water running into lakes, rivers and streams. As water flows through a wetland, it is slowed down by the wetland’s plants. Debris in the water gets trapped by the stems and roots, and when water flows out of the wetland, it is cleaner.

<previous page page 2 of 3 next page>

49MARAIS, MARÉCAGES, TOURBIÈRES

Tourbière basse.
Tourbière basse.
Jusqu’à récemment encore, les terres humides canadiennes étaient considérées comme de peu de valeur, à moins qu’on ne puisse les assécher et les raser à fin de développement agricole ou urbain. Dans certaines parties du sud-ouest de l’Ontario, c’est plus de 90% des habitats humides originaux qui ont ainsi disparu..

Les Offices de protection de la nature se sont impliqués dans l’évaluation, l’acquisition et la préservation des terres humides depuis de nombreuses années. Une des plus grandes étendues humides dans la partie est de la rivière Sydenham se trouve dans la plaine d’inondation située entre Coldstream et Strathroy. Il existe un autre groupe d’habitats humides dans la plaine sablonneuse de Bothwell.

Les terres humides réduisent la pollution en filtrant les eaux provenant des lacs, rivières et ruisseaux. Comme l’eau qui passe par un habitat humide est ralentie par les plantes, les débris sont piégés par les tiges et les racines, et l’eau qui en sort est plus propre.

< page précédente page 2 de 4 page suivante >