33GLACIERS, DIRT, AND THE SYDENHAM RIVER

One of the last great glaciers formed the landscape of nearly all of present-day Ontario, including this area. This was the Wisconsin glacier, which existed 15,000 years ago. This may seem like a long time ago, but it was the youngest and last glacier in this part of Ontario.

This diagram shows the different soil types in the Sydenham River Watershed.
This diagram shows the different soil types in the Sydenham River Watershed.
Sometimes, warmer weather would melt the ice. Imagine the huge amount of water that flowed from the Wisconsin glacier when it melted! Meltwaters formed streams, which would create glacial lakes. These glacial lakes once covered the entire Sydenham River watershed.

Before the Wisconsin glacier melted and retreated out of Southwestern Ontario, the land was drastically changed by the back and forth motion of the ice sheet. As the glacier advanced or retreated, the ice would scrape and grind the underlying bedrock, changing its shape. Meltwaters, streams, and glacial lakes also changed the shape of the land, and what kind of soil could be found here.

<previous page page 2 of 4 next page>

33GLACIERS, TERRE, ET PAYSAGES

C’est l’un des derniers grands glaciers, à l’origine de quasiment tout le paysage de l’Ontario moderne, y compris cette région : il s’agit du glacier Wisconsin, il y a 15.000 ans de cela. Cela peut paraître ancien, mais c’est en fait le plus récent et le dernier des glaciers dans cette partie de l’Ontario.

Ce diagramme montre les différents types de sol du bassin-versant de Sydenham River.
Ce diagramme montre les différents types de sol du bassin-versant de Sydenham River.
Parfois, des températures plus clémentes font fondre la glace. Essayez d’imaginer l’énorme quantité d’eau qui provint du glacier Wisconsin lorsqu’il se mit à fondre ! Les eaux de ruissellement formèrent des ruisseaux, qui à leur tour créèrent des lacs glaciaires. Ceux-ci recouvraient à l’époque tout le bassin-versant de Sydenham River.

Avant que le glacier Wisconsin n’ait fondu et se soit retiré du sud-ouest de l’Ontario, le terrain s’était profondément modifié sous les mouvements d’expansion/rétraction du glacier. A mesure que celui-ci s’agrandissait ou reculait, la glace frottait, érodait le substratum rocheux sous-jacent et modifiait sa forme. La fonte des glaces, les ruisseaux et les lacs glaciaires aussi changèrent le paysage et le type de sol qu’on y trouve aujourd’hui.

< page précédente page 2 de 4 page suivante >