31THE DROOPING TRILLIUM

The name trillium means “having parts in threes”.   Each plant has three green sepals, three leaves and three coloured petals.
The name trillium means “having parts in threes”. Each plant has three green sepals, three leaves and three coloured petals.
There are several features that differentiate the Drooping Trillium from other species. The flower was named due to how the flower "droops" below its leaves. This makes the flower less noticeable than the White Trillium, the provincial emblem. The Drooping Trillium is the tallest trillium species in Ontario, growing to a height of 60cm.

The Drooping Trillium is also unique in that it blooms longer than the other Ontario trilliums. The flower can be seen for 3 – 4 weeks and is whitish in colour. Some say that the flower looks "bug eyed," because the petals are opened wide, displaying the ovary in the centre of the flower. The ovary can also vary in colour from white to cream, and even sometimes maroon.

Many people believe that picking a trillium will kill it. Although picking a trillium can damage the plant, it usually does not kill it. Picking removes the leaves, which collect energy and send it to the roots, which in turn store it for the next growing season. The trillium needs enough time to store lots of energy. If the leaves are picked early in the season, the plant will not have enough energy to produce a flower the next year.

<previous page page 2 of 3 next page>

31LE TRILLE À PÉDONCULE INCLINÉ

Le mot trille signifie “divisible par trois”. Chaque plante a trois sépales verts, trois feuilles et trois pétales colorés.
Le mot trille signifie “divisible par trois”. Chaque plante a trois sépales verts, trois feuilles et trois pétales colorés.
Il y a plusieurs moyens pour différencier le trille à pédoncule incliné des autres espèces. La fleur est ainsi appelée à cause de la façon dont la fleur s’incline sous ses feuilles. La fleur est donc moins visible que le trille grandiflore, emblème de la province. Le trille à pédoncule incliné est le plus grand des trilles en Ontario, atteignant 60 cm de haut.

Le trille à pédoncule incliné est également unique car il fleurit plus longtemps que les autres trilles de l’Ontario. On peut observer la fleur, blanchâtre, pendant 3 à 4 semaines. D’aucuns disent que la fleur a un "œil d’insecte," à cause des pétales grand ouvert mettant en évidence l’ovaire au centre de la fleur. Celui-ci peut varier en couleur, allant de blanc à crème, et même parfois brun.

Beaucoup croient que le fait de cueillir un trille lui est fatal. Bien que cela puisse l’endommager, ça ne le tue en général pas. Le cueillir fait tomber les feuilles, ce qui dirige l’énergie vers les racines, accumulant celle-ci jusqu’à la prochaine saison. Le trille a besoin de temps pour emmagasiner suffisamment d’énergie. Si les fleurs sont cueillies trop tôt dans la saison, la plante n’aura pas assez d’énergie pour produire une fleur l’année suivante.

< page précédente page 2 de 3 page suivante >