16THE CHANGING LANDSCAPE

The surveyors also noticed large sections of swamp. Mahlon Burwell, a surveyor, had this to say in his diary:

"I found the swamp got so bad I could proceed no further, so thought most practicable to return. From what I saw of the swamp, I knew it must extend the greater part of the way across the Township (Ekfrid) and so deep and miry that the Packers could not get through"

This old picture shows how most of the landscape looked 100 years ago.
This old picture shows how most of the landscape looked 100 years ago.
At one time, forest covered 70% of the land and swamps covered 30%. In 1859 the Municipal Institutions Act was passed to allow municipalities to drain land. The result of this act is that wetlands now cover less than 1% of the land, and most of the watershed is used for agriculture.

Changes in agricultural technology and prices of crops also affected the land. In 1962, most of the land was used for hay production or pasture. This type of farming is very easy on the land, since it prevents erosion. That limits the amount of debris flowing into the river, and protects the plants and animals that rely on clean water.

<previous page page 2 of 3 next page>

16PAYSAGES CHANGEANTS

Les arpenteurs avaient aussi noté de larges sections marécageuses. Mahlon Burwell, arpenteur de son état, reportait ce qui suit dans son journal :

"Je trouvai le marécage si impénétrable que je ne pus aller plus loin, et jugeai bon de rebrousser chemin. D’après ce que j’en vis, le marais, dans sa plus grande part, recouvre en totalité la commune (Ekfrid), et il est si profond et bourbeux que les chevaux n’y peuvent pénétrer."

Cette photo ancienne montre à quoi ressemblait le paysage il y a 100 ans de cela.
Cette photo ancienne montre à quoi ressemblait le paysage il y a 100 ans de cela.
Il fut une époque où la forêt recouvrait 70% de la terre et les marécages 30%. En 1859, la Loi sur les institutions municipales fut adoptée pour permettre aux municipalités d’assécher les terres. Le résultat, de nos jours, est que les terres humides recouvrent moins d’1% des terres, et que la plupart du bassin-versant sert à l’agriculture.

Les changements de la technologie agricole et le prix des céréales affectèrent également la terre. En 1962, la majeure partie de la terre servait à la production de foin ou de pâturage. Ce type d’agriculture n’est pas agressif pour la terre, car il prévient l’érosion. Ceci limite la quantité de débris évacués dans la rivière, et protège les plantes et animaux qui ont besoin d’une eau claire.

< page précédente page 2 de 3 page suivante >